Just some food for thought ...
Maybe it's just me... but.. First things first. I blame our country. I blame it for being too rich. A place too comfortable for our own good. A place where things are too easy. A place that doesn't teach us. A place that doesn't let us properly grow as human beings.
America is great. Don't get me wrong. But it turns us into useless people with no dreams.
Many of my friends say "dude.. I don't know what to do when I grow up." Or, "dude.. what should I be when I grow up?"
And I just think that's so messed up. Jeez, you're talking about your LIFE here. And you're asking ME what YOU wanna do? But it also says a lot. It reflects a "lost" generation. Life has been so easy for so many of us (and I'm not talking about hard studying to get good grades and all that jazz).
There has not been ONE moment where I've waken up on a morning and asked myself "how am I going to eat today? Where can I find food that will last me today? Will I survive to see tomorrow?"
We just wake up, and the food is there. We go outside and our transportation awaits us. We go home to a warm house. Shelter is not a problem. Yet we've grown accustomed to think that these are all "normal."
Our idea of "normal" is so luxurious compared to others. While we have all these things, others work for them.
There are others who work everyday to see the next day. The food they eat is out of their own sweat and labor. They "learn" something special. Out of their sufferings, they TRULY grow, and realize from an early age that in this world, we HAVE to WORK for things.
But I'm getting off topic here.
So remember how I said that I blame our country? I really do. It's a place too comfortable for our own good. Its a place where we don't really have to work for anything. We don't suffer enough to truly see life the way it is. Eating delicious food everyday? Sleeping every night to a warm bed? Having a clean bathroom to do your business in? Oh believe me. Those are luxuries that really isn't "reality."
In this comfortable nation, we are blind. We can't hear our calling. We don't see our purpose in life. Each day we go to school, come home, do some homework, study, watch TV, and hit the sack. How are we supposed to know what our life calling is then?
Perhaps theres a student out there who is a failure in school, which destroyed his motivation and dream in his life.
But what if he was the next person to find a cure for cancer?
Humans, are just like plants. With the proper environment, they can truly blossom into something beautiful.
But we're being over-watered.
Our culture fattens us till we can't see. We all have that hidden potential. But our lifestyle is completely killing it. Murder, I cry! MURDER!
Why not go on more field trips? Why not do more hand-on activities? Why not explore the wilderness everyday during class? Perhaps then students will be able to hear their calling. Because EVERYONE has a purpose in life.
So when people say "dude.. what should I major in?" It saddens me... the fact that all that beautiful "could-be" potential going down the drain... It saddens me really.
And I see my friends saying "Hey, i kinda wanna major in this, or that, and maybe this job will be fun." In my view, if you don't have a passion for a certain major, you WILL fail. Or grow up to be real cruddy at what you do.
So it's no wonder that we see so many high-school drop-outs (but then again, high-school drop-outs can even grow to be millionaires! With the proper mindset that is..) and college drop-outs, and people working jobs they don't want.
And in the end, perhaps it's God's way of making everything functional. We need those people behind desks doing boring paperwork. We need someone to do all those odd/boring/hard/dirty jobs, despite how unfair that may be.
Perhaps it's all just a hopeless circle?